ASEC School Districts

Ada-Borup-West Climax-Shelly East Grand Forks Fertile-Beltrami
Fisher Fosston Red Lake Falls Red Lake County Central
Stephen-Argyle Central Warren-Alvarado-Oslo Win-E-Mac

Our Mission

The purpose of ASEC is to assist the local school districts in meeting and serving students with speical needs.

Cooperative Profile

ASEC is a cooperative of 11 school districts in northwestern Minnesota. The Cooperative was formed in 1969 by agreement of local schools to provide a full range of specialized services to children on a district level. This cooperative is administered by a Board of Directors composed of the superintendents of the 11 school districts and the director and assistant directors of special education. The primary goal of the cooperative is to provide support services to teachers, administrators, parents and students with disabilities. A wide variety of support services are available to districts such as technical assistance, assessment for special education services, consultation, counseling, crisis intervention, low incidence services, early childhood special education programming and personnel development opportunities.


The ASEC has a staff of specialists consisting of school psychologists, teachers of the deaf/hard of hearing, interpreters, vision consultants, and early childhood special education teachers. Other areas of specialty such as physical therapy, occupational therapy, orientation and mobility, audiology, physical and other health impaired, autism, behavioral and assistive technology consultants are provided for conditions which affect a student's learning.

External Links